As long as I can remember, if I chose to make New Years resolution, I think they all revolved around the same idea: losing weight. I would be lying if I said that wasn’t still at the top of my list, but I have a few other issues that I’m batting around for self improvement 2011. More specific than losing weight, I want to accomplish the dual lifestyle change of eating well and exercising.

Eat well. I will admit that I love food that is bad for me. Ice cream and cookies top that list, especially homemade chocolate chip cookies. I have read a lot about nutrition and I admit to being truly envious of those who engage in a vegan diet. I believe that the human body does not easily digest animal products, but damn if butter does not make everything taste better. So my resolution to eat better is to reduce the amount of animal and dairy products in my diet, to increase the amount of whole grains and locally grown produce, while importantly, avoiding prepared or processed food. Is this what people call a macrobiotic diet?

Exercising. I do exercise, but I want to get strong. Right now I do a combination of cardio/weight training combined with yoga. I find new routines on Exercise TV. But none of this is particularly easy. I have muscle soreness and aching bones, but I get up at least every other day with the determination to exercise regardless of how I feel. It’s been a number of steady months now, and I think I am passed the worst of it, but now I want to be hard core. I want to be that person who can wake up at six in the morning before a busy day just to get my work out in. I want to be that person you see running in the rain or snow, so fit that the weather is irrelevant.

On top of that, I want to read more, write more (welcome to my blog), continue to improve my French while learning another new language. I want to practice my guitar more often and get my bicycle out of mothballs. The big one, though, is I want a new career. The tricky part is, I don’t know what that new career should be. All I know is that I don’t like what I do for a living now, and I am still too young to just give up and accept the job that I fell into before I knew better. I know better now, and while it will not be easy, I need to find something better to do to earn a living. So that is the big challenge for 2011.

